My name is Kate and I’m addicted to Tattoos.

The struggle is real. I got my first tattoo on my 18th birthday and haven’t been able to stop since. If I could, I’d have a lot more art covering my body right now but that takes time. And money. That I don’t have to spend on such things. (Bills usually take a priority over tattoos.)

I knew before I even turned 18 that I wanted to be tatted up. I had a few ideas of what I wanted but nothing was too over-the-top. In my head at least. Now-a-days, tattoos are more and more common it seems. Yet, the judgments that some people have of tatted people never seem to fade away.

Let me break down my opinion on tattoos for you:

  • It is a form of art. ART; noun 1. the quality, production, expression, or realm, according to aesthetic principles, of what is beautiful, appealing, or of more than ordinary significance.  << Go to dictionary.com and that is only one definition out of seven. So don’t you dare tell me tattoos are not art.
  • It is a way for people to express themselves. For example, one of my tattoos is of a breast cancer ribbon. This is something I am extremely passionate about but also something I don’t normally bring up in everyday conversation with people. When they see it, they ask me about it and it gives me a chance to talk about it. Bam – ice breaker.
  • They are there FOREVER. (With the exception of tattoo removal now…but whatever.) In my eyes, tattoo removal isn’t an option. I’m not paying this kind of money and going through the pain just to pay this kind of money and go through the pain all over again to get it removed. When I make a decision of what I want as a tattoo, I know it will be there forever. No going back. So they all have a lot of meaning to me and aren’t just random.

Now, what you’ve all been waiting for…drum roll please….my tattoos. Sit back, relax, and enjoy the show and stories. 🙂 P.S. Sorry in advance for the horrible quality of photos. 😦

Left wrist (also my very first tattoo): the word ‘Patience’. My dad has been telling me to “be patient” since I could talk. And still to this day, tells me this. It’s something I’m working on everyday and with the reminder always being there, I’ve improved (but still have a long ways to go). Although it has backfired on me when my daddy yells at me to look at my damn wrist when I’m being impatient…

20140918_165414_1[1]

Right foot: Breast cancer ribbon, cherry blossom flowers and the word ‘Strength’. Many many people in my life have been affected by this horrible disease. My grandma passed away from it at the ripe age of 40. I got this tattoo around the time my aunt (also my Godmother) was going through treatment. It reminds me how fragile life can be and just how quickly it can be taken away from you. In Japan, cherry blossom represents the fragility and the beauty of life.

2014-09-18_17.03.52[1]

Left foot: Puzzle piece with a blue heart in it. My cousin has the piece that fits together with it and I chose a blue heart to represent my support for Autism Awareness. We got these in the spur of the moment.

20140918_165742[1]

Left ribs: The quote “Whatever you do, do it with class. -Dad” I’m sure you can tell by now my dad is one of the two most important men in my life. Everything he says to me, I take to heart. This is another thing he tells me often and has taught me a lot in life. Cool fact: I got this when I was on vacation in San Diego, CA.

20140918_165657[1]

Upper back: Angel wings with a heart in the middle and my two Grandpa’s initials in the heart. Both of these men were so very special to me and I miss them both dearly. I truly believe they are my guardian angels who watch over me everyday and that is why I chose angel wings.

Screenshot_2014-09-23-13-02-06[1]

Left bicep: “What doesn’t kill me makes me stronger.” This one has a deep meaning for me and has nothing to do with Kelly Clarkson’s song. I suffered from depression for a while and often had suicidal thoughts. I didn’t follow through which in turn made me stronger. This also goes for many other things I’ve gone through in life. Quotes often get me through rough times which is why I have so many words tattooed on my body.

20140918_165457[1]

Left shoulder: Celtic design from my solo dress for Irish dance that I designed myself. I think this is self-explanatory given that you read my last post. Cool fact: my brother did this tat for me.

2014-09-18_17.02.22[1]

In case you weren’t keeping count, that’s seven tattoos that I have. And I plan to get many more, including a couples tattoo with Chadd. Judge away. 🙂

2 thoughts on “My name is Kate and I’m addicted to Tattoos.

  1. I am a huge fan of tattoos and as we speak building up a sleeve on my right arm. I started this recently and will also be putting tattoo stories on my blog. Really enjoyed reading yours, Sabi

    Like

  2. Pingback: Celebrating One Year | Kate's balancing act

Leave a Reply

