Paszkiewicz Party of 2: Part 2

The time finally came and we were on the freakin’ road to Tennessee…TO GET MARRIED!!!!!

This meant I had so many emotions running wild, all positive of course. Here were some thoughts/emotions running through my mind (in no specific order):

1. I love long car rides with Chadd, we always seem to get into such intense and deep conversations and always give each other our full attention.
2. We had some of our best friends (who are really family to us) taking the drive down there with us, just in a separate car. So it was nice knowing we had someone to follow us (and call 911 when we almost got taken out by a semi…scariest.thing.ever!).
3. This was my first trip to Tennessee and seeing the Smokey Mountains. Going somewhere new is ALWAYS exciting. (It was just as beautiful as I had imagined!)
4. We had thirty of our closest friends and family meeting us down there in the next day or so to share this special day with us.
5. Did I forget to pack anything…?
6. Most importantly, I was going to be marrying my best friend!!!!!! That alone is enough to be excited about, duh.

After almost 11 hours straight, we finally arrived to Gatlinburg Tennessee! The sun was just coming up so nothing was open yet, not even fricken McDonald’s (job fair or some shit was going on) so we drove around and killed some time until we found a breakfast place open to stop and fill our tummies. Shortly after, we were able to check into our cabin.

We arrived in Tennessee on early Thursday morning so this left us two full days before the wedding to adventure around town. And that is exactly what we did. We tried to do as much as we could in this short amount of time along with getting for the biggest day of our lives. Along with being tourists, we had to pick up our marriage license, call the caterer and tell them to tell the park ranger they were catering a family reunion and not a wedding because we realized we didn’t get a permit we were supposed to…oops, pick up beer and soda for the after-party/reception, figure out where the chapel was, and figure out where the salon was to get my make-up done!

Normally, I would’ve been SO overwhelmed by all of this but I thought I kept my shit together pretty damn well. (Maybe confirm with Chadd….not sure if I’m fooling myself or not.) I think one thing that really helped me stay calm was a book I received from a good friend as an engagement gift. It was a short book with lines from Corinthians 13. If you don’t know it, I suggest looking it up. I read this over and over while everyone was napping.

Fast forward a little and the big day has finally arrived!!!!!!!!!!!!! Instead of sharing every intimate detail with you (because one, that would be pages long and two, I’d like to keep some things for only Chadd and I) I will share with you certain aspects of our wedding. If there is anything you want to know, ask!!! I’ll be more than happy to share it with you! 🙂

You better believe I had something old, something new, something borrowed and something blue.
Something old: gross plain white socks….I was too cheap to buy new, cute ones
Something new: my cowboy boots
IMG_0194
Something borrowed: mama’s pearls
IMG_0344
Something blue: a piece of one of my dad’s blue shirts, in the shape of a heart, sewn into my dress

Traditions…I broke more than I kept. I’m not a very traditional person.
Not sleeping together the night before: broke
Not seeing each other the day of until the ceremony: broke
Groom not seeing bride in gown beforehand: kept (below is a photo of when Chadd first saw me)
IMG_0219
Getting married in a church: broke
IMG_0241
Had my dad walk me down the aisle: kept
IMG_0204 IMG_0203
Had my mom help me get ready: kept and broke….had both my mother and mama helping me with my dress and my dad helped me with my jewelry (neither mom could figure it out haha!)
IMG_0155IMG_0163IMG_0165
Writing our own vows: broke (but I LOVE our vows…will share in a later post…maybe)

Details and Random Facts
I put together a “Groom’s Survival Kit” and had someone give it to Chadd while I was getting dressed.
IMG_0145
Our wedding party consisted of three of Chadd’s siblings….two flower girls and one badass ring bearer. (We had him dress like a secret service agent and he rocked it!)
IMG_0172 IMG_0182 IMG_0179 IMG_0250
Homemade sign and candles in memory of loved ones who watched from above.
IMG_0230
I made Chadd and my dad’s boutonnieres out of our used shotgun shells.
IMG_0383
I made a sign to take a photo with to give to my dad….he was having a REALLY hard time accepting his little girl was getting married.  
IMG_0332 IMG_0329
Chadd’s wedding ring is his promise ring I gave him over a year before we got married.
IMG_0313
They provided us with a unity candle to light after we said our vows.
IMG_0262
I had no clue what mine, or the flower girl’s, flowers were going to look like until I got there. All I told them was colors and sent photos of some I liked. I love they way they turned out so much I’m considering making them into a tattoo and also dried them and put them in a shadow box.
IMG_0331
Our ceremony only lasted ten minutes and we took photos for about twenty minutes afterwards. Below are some of my favorite photos of Chadd and I.
IMG_0272 IMG_0352 IMG_0365 IMG_0366 IMG_0380 IMG_0376 IMG_0377 IMG_0394 IMG_0384 IMG_0390  IMG_0397 IMG_0396

2 thoughts on “Paszkiewicz Party of 2: Part 2

  1. Pingback: Celebrating One Year | Kate's balancing act

  2. Pingback: Celebrating One Year - Kate's Balancing Act

Leave a Reply

