DIY: Christmas Decor

So…I hear you want to be crafty? Whether it was the Pinterest devil that convinced you or just your inner crafter, you’ve come to the right place. Most of my ideas are off Pinterest because let’s face it, I’m just not that creative. But even though I get my ideas from Pinterest, I tend to add my own touch to them somehow. Keep in mind, all my DIY projects are done on a college student budget and usually cost very little. (Helloooo coupons!) This holiday craft was inspired from the below photo:

Screenshot_2014-11-16-18-32-59[1]

Here is what you will need:

  • 3 bottles (use any kind you want…I chose wine bottles….so I had an excuse to drink three bottles of wine…NO! It was not in one sitting…I don’t think…)
  • Twine (I had laying around leftover from wedding crafts…originally from Jo-Ann Fabrics)
  • Decorative twig things to go inside (I’m not sure of the technical crafty term but I found mine at Jo-Ann Fabrics…they were 50% off and I had a coupon so I got all six of them for under $5!)
  • Felt or material for letters (I used felt which was also from Jo-Ann Fabrics…but any craft store or even Wal-Mart should have most, if not all, of these things)
  • Scissors (laying around…if you don’t have any contact Edward Scissorhands…he might borrow you his time and take care of this for you in no time)
  • Hot glue gun (also picked up from Jo-Ann Fabrics for about $4…even came with the glue sticks! I originally tried using just regular super glue…didn’t work for me but if you’re feeling confident give it a shot)

This whole project took me a little over the hour…the most time consuming part was wrapping the bottles…if I had the hot glue gun right away instead of the super glue, it would’ve taken me a half hour or less.

Directions
1. I started by drinking my wine. Then I waited to start the craft another night so I was sober enough to know what I was doing. (Lightweights do exist in Wisconsin, I’m living proof.)

2014-11-29_13.45.16[1]
2. Next, I wrapped the bottles in twine. I started at the bottom of the bottle and glued the end piece. I tightly wound the twine around the bottle then just added another dab of glue on the opposite end of the twine. Repeat two more times. (For each bottle, duh.)

2014-11-29_13.46.00[1]
3. Next, I drew my letters on a piece of printer paper and cut them out. I used these as templates for my felt. Traced the letters on with a sharpie and cut on the inside of the sharpie marks so no marks were left on my nice creamy felt. I chose to do it this way because I only bought one piece of felt and I’d rather waste computer paper if I didn’t like the way it turned out the first time, then to have to go out in the blistery cold to get another piece of felt. Feel confident still? Do it by hand on your felt or fabric and pray to the craft Gods it turns out good the first time. P.S. You can use any three letter word you desire, does not have to be ‘JOY’…but I don’t suggest asking your male significant other for ideas…my hubby suggested “TIT” for ours….imagine going to a friends house and seeing a holiday decoration that screams ‘TIT’…..just let that sink in….

2014-11-29_13.43.35[1]
4. Once my letters were cut out, I laid them out to make sure they looked symmetrical. This is optional. I was happy with the way they looked so I whipped out my handy-dandy hot glue gun and stuck these bad boys onto the bottles. (Note: I had the bottles lined up when I did this so my letters were in the same spot on each bottle)
5. Then I added the final touches and just simply stuck the decorative twig things in each bottle and BAM! You’re finished!

2014-11-29_13.47.05[1]

Now go on and drink three more bottles and make this gift for someone else! (Trust me, it’s a legit excuse to drink three bottles of wine…in moderation of course…) And share photos of your finished product with me!

Leave a Reply

