3 Reasons to NOT Make New Year’s Resolutions

champagne-592638_1920

So for the first time ever, I’ve decided to not make New Year’s resolutions. Now hear me out ’cause I got my reasons and you may join my bandwagon after reading them!

Reason #1: Resolution is too big, unspecific & unrealistic
So who here has had a resolution along the lines of “eat healthy every single day – no cheat meals EVER!” orrr “work out every single day – lose one million pounds by March!”?! I know you can’t see, but I’m raising my hand high! I am so guilty of making completely unrealistic resolutions which in turn makes it impossible for me to follow through with. I basically am just setting myself up for failure at the beginning of every year. Noooot doing that anymore!

Reason #2: You aren’t motivated
Let’s be real…you’re only making those resolutions because society thinks you should. You’re most likely not truly motivated to make those specific changes in your life – or if you are, you’re not 100% motivated and prepared to give it your all. Make goals when the time is right and when you can dedicate yourself 100% to the changes you want to make.

Reason #3: Not believing in yourself
I think a lot of people make resolutions knowing they will never happen. Again, this goes back to making resolutions because you feel you need to and not because you want to. Which leads you to not having faith and believing in yourself to follow through. Again – make goals when the time is right.

I’m so guilty of the typical “I’ll start on Monday” or “I’ll start next month” excuses. But I’ve come to realize that it doesn’t have to be the beginning of a fresh week or month. If you have a goal you wanna reach – start when you feel you are ready and can commit to making that goal happen.

So instead of resolutions this year, I want to just throw out there some things I plan to do. Starting now. And continuing to work on FOR LIFE. Nothing is a quick fix or a diet or a workout regimen…just things to do to live life to the fullest.

Be present.
Meaning – put the phone down a little more. Have deeper conversations. Soak in every minute of every day.

Love harder.
You never know when it will be the last time you get to see someone. Always say “I love you” no matter how angry you may be. If you love someone – make sure they know it. Don’t hold back, you can never tell someone you love them too often.

Be less judgmental.
I will be the first to admit that I am an extremely judgmental person sometimes. But I need to remember everyone is fighting their own battle and to always be kind and judge less.

Thanks for hearin’ me out and maybe I’ve convinced you to jump on my bandwagon and maybe not. But either way – whether you make resolutions or a list of things like myself – make them with all your heart and don’t give up!

Untitled design

7 thoughts on “3 Reasons to NOT Make New Year’s Resolutions

  1. I just LOVE this! Resolutions are completely unrealistic as you said & i love the alternatives you presented!

    Like

Leave a Reply

