5 Hair Myths

Today’s guest blogger is one of my oldest friends, Niki! We’ve been friends for 11 years! (I think!) Holy smokes…I just counted that out and how in the heck has it been that long?! Anyways I watched her pursue her dream of becoming a hairstylist and needless to say I’m so proud of her and where she has gone with it. She just did my hair last night and blew me away – I am OBSESSED with how it turned out! The picture doesn’t even do it justice. I showed her a photo of what I liked and she damn near matched it perfectly. Okay moving on…she’s here today to share with you 5 hair myths! Enjoy! 🙂


Well hello there!
I’m really excited to be a guest blogger on Kate’s Balancing Act today. Thanks for having me Kate! My name is Niki, and I’ll be 24 in a few days. Although I’m brand new to this whole blogging thing, I thought I’d give this a try on something I’m so passionate about.  I’m a full time hairstylist, part time therapist, or so it feels sometimes. I love my job, and I love what I do, so I figured, what better way to extend that love then to bust a few myths with you today!

Myth Number 1:
You shouldn’t wash your hair before you get your color done.

1

This is a huge myth. I’ve actually had clients come in and they haven’t washed their hair for 2-3 days before because they have heard “it’s better to get your hair colored while it’s dirty.” Actually it’s the opposite. It’s better to get you hair colored when it’s clean. When you come in with dirty hair, you have a buildup of your natural oils on your scalp, and whatever other products you’ve been using. When the color is put on your hair, it has to try and break through all the buildup, which in return can actually result in an uneven color.

Myth Number 2:
Plucking a gray hair causes two more to grow back in its place.

2

There is absolutely no truth to this myth. The color of your hair is determined by the melanin in each hair follicle. As you age, your hair starts to lose the melanin, turning it white or gray.

Myth Number 3:
Using the same shampoo everyday makes it stop working.

3

Using the same shampoo everyday will eventually cause a product build-up, which is why it may seem like your shampoo of choice is no longer working. Not every shampoo will create a buildup. It all depends on the ingredients that it contains. A good way to prevent this from happening, is to switch up your shampoo from time to time, or to use a clarifying shampoo once a week. My favorite is Redken Hair Cleansing Cream.

Myth Number 4:
 If you use a cleansing conditioner, you never have to shampoo your hair again.

4

A cleansing conditioner isn’t supposed to be in place of your shampoo. This is to be used on the days you don’t shampoo. For example, if you wash your hair every other day, but on day two, you feel oily, instead of using dry shampoo you could try a cleansing conditioner. You would shower and wash your hair, but you would not use your shampoo, or conditioner. Just the cleansing conditioner.

The problem people were having with these products are that a lot of the drug store cleansing conditioners have petroleum in them. So what happened is when people weren’t shampooing at all, they were getting a buildup of the petroleum on their scalp that would clog their hair follicles.

Myth Number 5:
Your hair color will look just like the picture on the box.

5

When you color your hair with a hair dye that you got from the drug store shelf, or off of a color swatch at the salon, you always need to keep in mind that the color you end up with, will all depend on the current color you have, and the condition of your hair. For an exact result, or as close as possible, see a professional hairstylist. 🙂

Well, I hope you all enjoyed this post as much as I enjoyed writing it. I’m not really a blogger myself, but if you want to check me out, you can do so on my Instagram at @niki_hahn, or you can go to http://myrootssalon.com/team/niki/ and click on the blue suitcase button and check out some of my work there!


A huge thank you to Niki for being a guest blog & also for rockin’ out my hair last night!

Left is the photo I showed her, right is me.

If you’d like to do a guest post (or know someone who would be great at it) please email me at kate.pasz@gmail.com as I’d like to keep this going as a regular thing! 🙂
signature
Instagram // Pinterest

Leave a Reply

