Shop Small with Kate: Volume 7

Today’s feature shop for #shopsmallwithkate is:
logo
I had the pleasure to personally meet with Kevin, the founder, owner and creator of Milwaukee Candle Company. He is an awesome down-to-earth guy and we seem to share a lot of the same values when it comes to a small business among other things. I knew he’d be a perfect person to do a collaboration with.

He started Milwaukee Candle Co. with an effort to create a product that combines the natural, authentic elements of handmade beauty with the modern appeal of elegant craftsmanship. Kevin says “I think Milwaukee Candle Co. represents many things, one being a curated lifestyle. I once heard this quote from a famous author by the name of Jacob Bronowski and it went like this; “The hand is the cutting edge of the mind”. To me, this represents a life full of exploring, making, and finding pleasure in one’s own skill. I have always loved working with my hands, and I want to share that with other people”.

There are a few things about Milwaukee Candle Co. that really stand out to me.

  • Scent-memory connection – So you know how you can smell something and all of a sudden a million memories come rushing to you that you correlate with that scent? That’s a big way Kevin comes up with a lot of his scents. To me this is awesome because I can totally relate with the scent-memory connection.
  • Milwaukee based – HOLLA! for all my fellow Milwaukee readers!! A lot of the scents he’s created are specifically Milwaukee based. Cue “Bradford Beach (on a good day)”, “Brewery Tour”, “ButterCream City Vanilla” and a couple others.
  • PackagingMilwaukee Candle Co. offers a couple different packaging options depending on what you get. The one that really spoke to me was the glass jars with the wood top and wood wick. It gave off a rustic-y feel to me which seems cozy. The entire Hometown Collection comes in this packaging. He also hand stamps each lid with “Hand Poured in Milwaukee, Wisconsin”. To me, this adds a personal touch especially being from Milwaukee myself.

I was lucky enough to snag a “Bradford Beach (on a good day)” candle and holy smokes I’m in LOVE! One thing to keep in mind…the Hometown collection scents really fill the room where as the Essential Collection is much more subtle. I personally am a fan of the stronger scented candles which is why I leaned towards the Hometown Collection. I also loved the wooden wick they come with – the crackle it gives off reminds me of being cuddled up by a fire during the winter months! I’m dying to get my hands on the “Brewery Tour” candle next!

Below are some other images from Milwaukee Candle Co.  that were taken in Milwaukee and to show you the other packaging option too.

You can find their Instagram here, Facebook here, and their website here.

Be sure to use the code BALANCING15 for 15% off any order, good through March 4th, 2016!


Don’t forget if you want to be featured or know of a good shop that you think should be featured, please email me at kate.pasz@gmail.com!
signature
Instagram // Pinterest

Leave a Reply

