Guest Post: Carylee

Carylee from More Pieces of Me is taking over Kate’s Balancing Act today.  For those that haven’t met Carylee yet, let me take a moment to introduce you.  She is a professional shopaholic and by far one of my favorite fashion bloggers!



Hello! My name is Carylee, and I blog over at More Pieces of Me! I was so flattered when Kate asked if I would write a guest post for her. She is one of the sweetest and most supportive bloggers I know in blogland, so I couldn’t be happier to put this together for her! She was kind enough to nominate me for a Liebster award, so I thought I would use this guest post as my way to thank her for the love and allow me to answer her questions! And, hopefully this gives you a little snippet of what I’m all about as well! Let’s get started!
 
Q: Who and/or what inspires you?
A: Well, if we are talking about fashion and blogging, I have a few favorites! I am obsessed with Dress Me Up & Down’s effortlessly casual style. And somehow she can make chunky sweaters sexy and mysterious! Style Me Tactical is so edgy and cool – I just love her street style and SHOES. Rachelle from PinkSole basically inspires me in every way. She is so disciplined when it comes to exercising, finances, meal prep, blogging – and she has such a positive attitude! Plus, I pull so much outfit inspo from her, it’s ridiculous!
 
Q: If you could only keep 5 possessions, what would they be?
A: My iPhone. Definitely could not live without that. My Rockstuds because they seriously go with everything. My military vest because it’s perfect and irreplaceable. Can my quarter season Cardinals tickets count as one possession? Because, baseball! And last but certainly not least, my Chanel.
 
Q: What is your greatest strength & biggest weakness?
A: Let’s start with my biggest weakness. I’m way too hard on myself. If something goes wrong at work, at home, wherever, I always look at myself first to blame. I just tend to focus on my faults vs. my strengths, especially when I compare myself to others. My greatest strength is that when I love something or someone, I put 100% of myself into it. 
 
Q: What do you love most about blogging? Or the blogging community?
A: Definitely the friendships! Some of the closest friends I have, I have made through blogging! And I just can’t imagine not having these people in my life. It’s just amazing that you can connect with so many people around the country, around the world, that you would never have ever made contact with if it weren’t for blogging as common ground. I just love it. Especially since I don’t have many girlfriends that are local here!
 
Left to right: DaphneeGinaRachelleCharneleNoelle
 
Q: What age do you feel right now & why?
A: I think I will forever feel like a 25 year old. I continue to grow and learn and mature, but deep down, I would still rather watch Gossip Girl than presidential debates. Adulting is hard.
 
Q: Why did you start blogging?
A: Long story short – I was a member of an online shopping forum where we talked about shopping and outfits and what to wear, yada yada. We would upload selfies of our outfits of the day, every day. I graduated from taking mirror selfies, to setting a timer on my cell phone and taking photos in the kitchen. Eventually, I got the urge to start an actual blog and take proper photos with a real camera. I really had no idea what I was doing. I just wanted an online diary, so to speak, and the rest is history! 
 
Old school remix photo!!
 
Q: What was the best advice ever given to you?
A: I’m going to give another shout out to Rachelle again. This wasn’t even advice she gave to me, specifically, she had it on her blog once and it just really resonated with me. She was talking about bloggers who vent about the haters in their blog posts and how it just seems a bit rude to spend so much time and effort focusing on those people that don’t like you when you have a tonnnn of other people that love and respect you. So, you really should focus that energy on the positives and not the negatives. It’s such good advice and I think of it often! Not that I get a lot of haters or negative comments, but as a blogger, it’s hard not to focus on your numbers, your engagement, the followers you DON’T have. It’s just a good reminder to appreciate all the good in your life!
 
Q: What would you tell your 16 year old self?
A: Oh gosh. Probably that these boys are not worth all the tears and to learn to be independent instead of defining who you are by who you have your heart set on! (Yes, I had boy problems. Ha!) Love happens when you least expect it. Also – your metabolism won’t always be that great, so eat up while you can! And nap. Take lots of naps! Oh!! And dry shampoo is your best friend. You don’t need to wash your hair everyday, girl! Spend that time sleeping!
 
Q: When is breaking the rules okay?
A: This is a hard one because I’m trying to think of the last time I broke the rules. Does speeding count? Because as long as I’m 10mph or under, that’s ok right? Or sometimes I Snap when I’m driving, but not on the highway, just on a side road going really slow when no other cars are around… 
 
Q: What do you feel the most proud of?
A: I’m the only one of my siblings who moved away and became independent. On one hand, that makes me sad because I do miss seeing my parents and family on a regular basis. On the other hand, I’m proud that I was able to do that. To experience life in different states. To manage being an adult in this crazy world. To be financially stable. To actually pay off a car all on my own. It all feels good!
 
And that’s it! Thanks again, Kate, for nominating me and for welcoming me into your blog! I hope you guys will pop over to see even more pieces of me! (See what I did there?)

Bloglovin | Facebook | Instagram


I hope y’all enjoyed getting to know Carylee a little bit more and I’m sure now you realize why she’s one of my fav’s! 😉 Oh and her snapchat is always on point too!

If you’d like to do a guest post (or know someone who would be great at it) please email me at kate.pasz@gmail.com as I’d like to keep this going as a regular thing! 🙂

signature
Instagram // Pinterest

Leave a Reply

