Life Update

I like to keep it real on here and I typically like to keep it positive. I’ve been slacking on posts (I have about 39 drafts started but haven’t finished them yet!) and just entirely overwhelmed with life in general. So with that being said I wanted to give y’all a quick update as to why things have been a little quiet around here lately.

Last week I was told that my last day at work would be April 29th. Giving me 18 days to find a new job. Woah. It came out of no where and it wasn’t anything I did wrong or the company did wrong. Things just weren’t lining up how we both wanted them to and it’s time to move on. I’m trying to have a positive outlook about it – like a blessing in disguise to find something bigger & better – but if I’m being honest, the time frame is COMPLETELY FREAKIN’ ME OUT! But I’m handling it. (Channeling my inner Olivia Pope over here.) I’ve already had a couple interviews and have 4 more scheduled in the next week. Fingers crossed!
1421838165-lena-dunham-scandal-olivia-pope-judy-smith

Yesterday was a day filled with nothing but bad news. A good friends grandma passed away. My aunt’s skin cancer came back – in addition to another cancer she is already battling. And my dad was diagnosed with diabetes. ALL IN ONE DAY. Talk about life punching you in the face. I’m a strong believer in prayer and the power behind it so I ask if you have some extra prayers to go around – to please keep my friends and family in your prayers. I know that everything happens for a reason but I can’t figure out what the reasons are for all this lately. I’m putting my trust inΒ God that He has a plan.

Among all this, there are lots of things I didn’t talk about and there are the little things in life that just get ya down too. But I’m trying my absolute best to look at them as just that – little things. Life could be so much worse and I know I’ve got God by my side to guide my friends, family & myself through this.

So…some positive things going on…hubby and I are heading up north this weekend! It’ll be great to just relax and be away from the city. We got our tax return and were able to catch up on some bills and have a little bit of fun money. I’m putting together a car show fundraiser and so far it is coming together relatively smoothly. I’ve been putting a lot of time into my volunteer position for Komen & that is also going well. May Day is coming up which is always fun, more on this later. And we have another fun weekend planned for May in the Wisconsin Dells for Automotion! So although there are a lot of bad things happening – there is still a lot to be thankful for and to look forward to.

I guess what I wanted to get out of this post was that life isn’t always grand, it’s not always as happy as it may seem. Be kind to those around you for you never know what battles they are facing. But don’t forget the positives you have going on around you too – because those are the things that will get you through your day. I’m just tryin’ to keep it real around here! If you read this far, thank you! I know this post isn’t the most exciting however I had to get it all out there – it helps to talk about it sometimes.

I promise the positive and uplifting posts will be returning! With that being said – are there any specific topics you’d like me to touch on soon? DIY? Recipes? Fashion? Travel? New job jitters? You name it and I’ll do it! Leave your ideas and requests in the comments below! Thank y’all for your loyalty to my blog and to me – it means more to me than you know!


signature
Instagram // Pinterest

4 thoughts on “Life Update

  1. I am so sorry to hear about all the bad news and I applaud you for even being able to put together this post! I know I would have given up and thought blogging would be unnecessary at a time like this. But use this as a therapeutic journal in a sense πŸ™‚ Keep your head up and stay positive. Like you have been saying… there’s is a reason behind everything. πŸ™‚ XO

    Liked by 1 person

  2. Hi Kate, so sorry to hear about your job but I’m glad you’re keeping a positive outlook on everything! I believe that everything happens for a reason and bigger and better things are out there for you!
    Just followed your blog and am looking forward to some great posts!
    Also wanted to say your home page layout is insanely gorgeous!
    amylee

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

