4 Tips For Starting a New Job

“She turned to the sunlight And shook her yellow head,And whispered to her neighbor- -Winter is dead.” (1)
There is always a whole lot of mixed emotions when it comes to starting a new job. Well there is for me anyways. I’m sad that I’m leaving behind the co-workers that I created a bond with, I’m nervous to be the new girl & having to learn all the new systems from scratch, I’m excited to be starting something fresh – the list goes on! By the end of this month I will (hopefully) be starting a new job so all of these feelings are starting to hit me. Because of this, I wanted to share with you 5 ways to handle starting a new job!

  1. Normalize New – Everything is new…from the drive into work, your desk area, your co-workers and probably even the work you’re doing. Go at it with a positive attitude and dominate your new new!
  2. Stick with Routine – Don’t switch up things you normally did to get your day going and throughout your day. For example, I usually stop for an iced coffee or energy drink in the morning and walk a lap throughout the building every time I use the bathroom. I’ll continue to do these things so I don’t throw off my routine.
  3. Ask Questions – This, in my opinion, is a must when you start a new job. You’re most likely learning new programs, new processes, etc. Being independent is good but don’t waste too much time trying to figure it out on your own before asking questions. It will look good to your boss too because it shows you want to learn it!
  4. Relax – This is most important I think. The more you stress about it, the worse it’ll be for you. Look at it as an exciting new adventure and not so much something new & scary.

    Copyright © Zooll.comDesign by MysticEmma

    Copyright © Zooll.com Design by MysticEmma

What are some things you do to mentally prepare for a new job?!


signatureInstagram // Pinterest

One thought on “4 Tips For Starting a New Job

  1. This is great! It’s likely my husband will transfer with his job this year or next, which means…job hunting for me. I’ll have to remember these great tips! Starting a new job can always be a little scary. Love these! Thanks!

    Like

Leave a Reply

