Everyday Makeup

Processed with VSCO with g3 preset

Processed with VSCO with g3 preset

Now I will be the first person to admit that I am by NO means a beauty blogger. Makeup is almost like a foreign language to me – yes even still at the age of 24. I need to get it together- I know, I knowwww. So the point of me doing this post is not for advice or to help others – it’s to try to get advice from all you makeup gurus out there!

I’m totally going to make myself vulnerable here and lay it all out on the line about how bad my makeup skills really are. I already know that some of the things I do are not the way to do it but to be honest, it’s just what I’m used to and its the easiest thing to do what is normal to me when I’m not completely awake yet in the mornings.

So here it is, step-by-step, my daily ‘beauty routine’ – if you can even call it that! I’ve changed the font to pink in areas I could use help – which is basically in every category!

  1. First things first, I MOISTURIZE! The last two years or so I’ve really been struggling with dry skin, pretty bad. I’ve tried a bunch of different moisturizers, ranging in all different prices and brands and am still struggling. I even have a humidifier running 24/7 at home. Currently I’m using a Mary-Kay moisturizer (not pictured) that my long time best friend gave to me to try. It’s definitely helped but the dry skin struggle is still there. Any suggestions?? P.S. I moisturize twice a day, once in the AM and once before I go to bed after taking my makeup off.
  2. Next up is PRIMER! I apply all over my face using my fingers. My friend (and professional make-up artist) Courtney kindly suggested I try the  L’Oreal Magic Lumi primer and I must say I really like it! I’ve definitely seen an improvement of length of wear of makeup while using this and it isn’t heavy at all. I would highly suggest this to anyone looking for a nice primer and for a nice price!
  3. Third step for me is FOUNDATION. I apply this all over using the orange beauty blender pictured. (This beauty blender was also recommended to me by Courtney and I don’t think I’ll ever use anything else ever again to apply foundation.) You can only see a tiny bit of the bottle in this photo but I use Revlon Colorstay in shade 180 – Sandy Beige. Foundation is one of those things I really struggle with finding one that I like and within a good price range. I’ve tried a wiiiiide range of different foundations and I’ve actually bought this one multiple times. It doesn’t feel too heavy and seems to last long all while not making me break out more than my naturally acne prone skin already does.
  4. Next, I apply CONCEALER. I tap it on with my finger and blend it in with the black brush shown at the bottom of the photo. (I have no clue what the name of the brushes are so….) I use the IT! cosmetics Bye Bye Under Eye that I received in an Ipsy bag and I actually really like it. I alwaysss put it on my dark circles (they will forever exist and forever be DARK. I’ve accepted that.) and then on any other spots that may need some extra covering. Now I read all over the place that it is an ongoing battle in the beauty industry of which to apply first – concealer or foundation? I can never remember which choice is more prominent so this is how I do it. Suggestions?
  5. Fifth step is BRONZER. Now this is where some of you beauty gurus might want to murder me. Because….I apply it ALL OVER. *monkey covering eyes emoji* I use a retractable brush (its the silver tube with rhinestones) that I received as a gift. I use the NYC bronzer called Sunny something or other and I’ve used it for years. And yes, I’ve always applied it all over. Now that contouring is all the rage I feel like this is the absolute wrong thing to do. But quite frankly, I don’t want to learn how to contour on my own. I need to physically be shown by someone who knows what their doing and go from there. Any volunteers??
  6. Next is BLUSH. For years I’ve used the same blush from CoverGirl. I don’t remember the color off the top of my head but it seemed like a good color for my skin tone. It was just a normal (I think?) compact blush. I recently received this tre’Stique blush stick and actually really like it. I was hesitant at first, having never used a blush stick before but it’s pretty nice. I rub a couple streaks on my cheek bones and blend with the Kabuki brush (did I get that right…?) seen in the right side of the photo. I know that the color of this blush looks orange-y in this photo but it’s actually a pretty coral.
  7. Moving on to eyes…if I apply EYESHADOW, now is when I would do it. I typically use a bareMinerals makeup set (not pictured) for my everyday eyeshadow. I use a gold-ish color as my base, a navy color on the outside corners and a silver-y/white on the inside corners then blend. This was a step-by-step tutorial that came with this makeup set HAHA! I think it looks okay? But I’m always open to new suggestions for everyday eyeshadow shades & how to apply! If you’re willing to help, I can send photos of what I have & what I use.
  8. Next I do EYELINER. This I will do with or without eyeshadow. I just use a typical black pencil by CoverGirl. Nothin’ fancy. Now I only apply on the bottom and on the waterline. I know that’s typically frowned upon but I really struggle with doing it under my bottom eyelashes without ending up looking gothic because I put it on too heavy. I used to apply eyeliner on the top and bottom but now I only do that for special occasions. Suggestions about that? Or how to apply properly to the bottom??
  9. Last but not least, MASCARA. Lately, I’ve been using this L’Oreal waterproof Voluminous Carbon Black mascara because I received it as a gift. It’s pretty good but mascara is another one of those things like foundation, where I’m always trying new things hoping to find something slightly better than what I’m currently using. I do not curl my eyelashes as they are already long and naturally curled up but I love adding extra volume with the right mascara. Any suggestions??

Welp, I apologize for the embarrassing makeup application storyline and I won’t even tell you the last time I washed all those brushes that I have no clue what they’re called. BUT I hope some of you wonderful makeup gurus are willing to help me out and throw out some suggestions, or anything! I’ll take what I can get to help take my beauty routine to the next level! Thank you in advance!


signature
Instagram // Pinterest

Leave a Reply

