Memorial Day Weekend

Whew, finally a long weekend! I feel like it’s been forever since we’ve had one and I’m excited that we actually don’t have much planned. Sometimes those are the best – we can just wing it and who knows where we’ll end up!

The only thing I have planned is helping with a  party – but I can’t giveaway too many details as some people attending may be reading and yeah. That is all. But I’m excited for it and hope to get some fun photos!

Another fun fact about Memorial Day weekend – two years ago is when Chadd proposed to me on this weekend! (um what? How the heck has it been TWO YEARS?!) You can read our proposal story here! We will be going back to the same spot for the 4th of July this year and I can’t wait!
photo 1

But onto the real meaning of Memorial Day. Sure, most people associate it with a three day weekend filled with parades, festivals, BBQ’s and day drinking but this day means much more to me and I know I’m not alone. I truly appreciate the day for what it is –  for remembering the people who died while serving in the country’s armed forces.
Memorial-Day
I know many individuals personally who have and are serving our country and I couldn’t be more proud to say that. I want to take the time to give a special shout out to the many people I know who have served our country at some point.

My Grandpa – Army
Brandon (Chadd’s best friend, and my best friends husband) – Marines
Jeramy (Brandon’s brother) – Marines
JT (my good friend from high school) – Marines
My brother James – Army
Chris (my good friend Niki’s boyfriend) – Air Force
Jarod (my good friend Erin’s father of her children) – Marines
Nikki – Army
1

flf1244-us-army-10-inch-round-patch

thBWWSSKO3

united-states-coast-guardunited-states-navy-embroidered-patch
I apologize if I missed you. I’m lucky enough to say that all those people listed above are now proud veterans with the exception of Brandon who is still serving but it won’t be long until he is home in the arms of his beautiful wife & Nikki who is also still serving.

Please don’t forget that this is why we have a three day weekend – because those people risk their lives every day for us. We get to live in this great country because of them. Take a moment to thank a soldier, thank a Marine, thank a veteran. Shake their hands. Go out of your way to say thank you if you see someone in public in uniform. Go to a veterans cemetery and take in each and every flag you see at every headstone. Take a moment to  appreciate all the things we tend to take for granted in our daily lives. And if you don’t do any of those things, at the very least please take a moment out of your day for a moment of silence to honor those who have fallen.


signature
Instagram // Pinterest

Leave a Reply

